Jump to Navigation

Drunk driving charges follow hit-and-run accident

A recent hit-and-run accident resulted in criminal charges for a Tennessee driver. The man was arrested on charges of drunk driving and vehicular assault after he struck two pedestrians with his car and then fled the scene of the accident. According to reports, the two people struck by the vehicle were in critical condition and were taken to the hospital for emergency medical treatment.

Law enforcement found the driver in his vehicle a few blocks away from the scene of the accident. He was then arrested and taken to jail. This is the driver's third drunk driving offense, and he has also been charged with two counts of leaving the scene of an accident and two counts of vehicular assault. He is scheduled to appear in court in January, but in the meantime, he would be wise to work with a defense attorney in order to understand the legal options available to him.

Defending against serious felony DUI charges

If you are facing felony drunk driving charges in Tennessee, the time to act is now. If you are convicted, the penalties that you could face may have life-altering consequences. Felony DUI charges can result in a one-year minimum prison sentence. We know what you are up against, and we can build a defense plan based on your needs and goals.

In addition to jail time, you could also face other fines and penalties. A felony conviction will remain permanently on your criminal record, which may compromise your future career opportunities. On top of all this, conviction of a felony crime could be used against you in a custody hearing and may result in being labeled as a habitual motor vehicle offender.

Charges of underage drinking can impact your future

When people under the age of 21 are arrested for drinking and driving, it can have a serious impact on their futures. It is critical to confront these charges effectively by securing the help of an attorney experienced in defending against DUI charges in Tennessee. Underage drinking is a serious criminal offense, but it may be possible to mitigate some of the potential penalties that these charges can bring.

There is no tolerance for drunk drivers under the age of 21. Any person with a blood alcohol content of .02 percent will be arrested and charged. Even if this is a first-time offense, an underage DUI can follow a person for years to come. It is possible that this criminal charge could result in lost scholarships, removal from certain academic programs, and college or career opportunities.

Lawmakers reverse changes to Tennessee drunk driving laws

Recent changes to Tennessee laws regarding DUI penalties have been reversed due to widespread backlash and the threat of a $60 million penalty from the federal government. The changes were related to the penalties faced by those convicted of underage drinking and driving, almost costing the state an overwhelming amount of money for road work. Certain lawmakers feel that the threat of the penalty was unfair and a form of blackmail to pressure the state to reverse the new drunk driving laws.

In July, lawmakers approved changes to DUI laws that would bring stiffer penalties for drunk drivers 18 to 21 years of age and raising the allowable blood alcohol content from .02 percent to .08 percent. These changes are at odds with federal standards of zero tolerance for underage drinking and driving. To avoid losing 8 percent of federal road funding, the governor called for a special session to address the issue.

3rd drunk driving charge filed against man

A man in Tennessee has been charged with driving under the influence after he was reportedly involved in an accident with a parked car. The accident took place at about 9:30 a.m. on a recent Sunday. This is the man's third time being arrested on a drunk driving charge in the past two years.

Police said a passerby contacted police saying that a man had gone to sleep while driving and ended up colliding with a parked vehicle. The accident happened on a highway outside of a gym. According to police, the 30-year-old man who was behind the wheel did not pass a field sobriety test because he took too many steps and did not turn properly. He also is said to have struggled with following police instructions during his one-leg test.

Repeat DUI offender? We can protect your rights and interests.

In Tennessee, a conviction for drunk driving can carry serious penalties, especially if a person has been convicted of a DUI in the past. If you are a repeat DUI offender, it is important to remember that your criminal record does not preclude you from a defense and other rights to which you are entitled. However, it is critical to take quick action to protect your future interests.

According to Tennessee law, first, second and third-time DUI offenders are not subjected to felony charges. However, a fourth DUI will bring felony charges and potentially serious repercussions. Whether it is your second DUI or you have been charged at least three times in the past, you will want to give serious thought to appropriate defense strategies.

Woman facing drunk driving charge after fatal accident

Those arrested and charged with drunk driving have the right to challenge the evidence offered by government prosecutors in court. There are several ways that this can be accomplished. It's crucial to know how to handle what may come next when faced with drunk driving charges in Tennessee.

An accident occurred in Davidson County on a recent Sunday morning in late August. It happened around 3 a.m. and resulted in the death of one woman and one man being hospitalized. They had been riding on a motorcycle when they were allegedly struck by a car in the midst of a U-turn, causing them to be thrown from the bike. The woman died at the scene, while the man was rushed to a local medical center.

Law enforcement officer facing drunk driving charges

The DUI case against a Tennessee law enforcement officer is set for a grand jury in September. The deputy is charged with driving under the influence, violation of implied consent law, violation of open container laws and possession of a firearm in a place where alcohol is served. This grand jury proceeding will determine if the case will proceed or if the drunk driving charges will be dismissed.

The charges stem from an incident that occurred in April. Emergency personnel responded to reports of a vehicle found that had run into a telephone pole. The firemen on the scene claim that they saw the driver attempt to pull away and leave the scene, and the driver allegedly fought against attempts to turn the car off and remove him from the car.

Police officer facing drunk driving charges

A Nashville police officer finds himself in an unusual situation after a DUI arrest. He is currently assigned to desk duty after he was arrested for drunk driving in Hendersonville. He is a seven-year veteran and is scheduled to appear in court in December. 

Tennessee law provides for strict penalties for those who are convicted of drunk driving, no matter if that person is a police officer or another citizen. The consequences, which include fines, jail time, loss of driving privileges and more, can have a long-reaching impact on a person's life. It is not clear if this police officer has previous DUI offenses on his criminal record, but he will need to take steps to defend himself against these charges, even if it is a first-time offense.

DUI charges filed after 3 people injured

A Tennessee man is facing criminal charges after an arrest for drunk driving in Chattanooga. He was suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol after allegedly causing a car accident that resulted in the injury of three people. The man is charged with DUI, reckless endangerment and leaving the scene of an accident. 

According to an affidavit, the man was accused of speeding and failure to heed a stop sign. The car is said to have  hit another vehicle with three people inside, and all three occupants were taken to a hospital for medical treatment. The affidavit claims that the driver of the first vehicle fled the scene, driving into oncoming traffic. 

Tell Us About Your Case

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Visit Our DUI/DWI law Website Subscribe To
This Blog's Feed

Our Office

Hindman & Lanzon
550 West Main Street Suite 550
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone: 865-223-6450
Toll Free: 866-383-1545

Fax: 865-521-6371

Knoxville Law Office Map